Dear Daniel V

Dear Daniel,
Today I am celebrating you and the joy you have brought to my life. Yesterday I had read some comments on a website that I visit occasionally that confused me, enraged me, and essentially rocked my world and question the faith I put in so many people. I have heard the statistic before, but have never considered who would be behind these stats or ever think I would encounter one.

Over 90 percent of individuals who find out their baby has Down syndrome ends up getting  an abortion. It’s a horrible, sad truth that is completely unacceptable. Never in my life have I been a confrontational person. I usually don’t even stick up for myself when I should. However, I had no problem telling these moms who said they “sleep perfectly fine at night” after having their DS babies aborted what I felt about them.

What made me even sadder was these women were already mothers. They know how precious life is, and it wasn’t that they didn’t want a baby….they didn’t want a baby with Down syndrome. I am confounded. I want to shake them, I want to scream at them, slap them, anything to get them to realize what a precious gift they have wasted. Unfortunately I cannot do any of those things, so I am left to pray for them. I pray that someday God will forgive them and for them to see the error in their ways. I pray that I can understand these people and that God will use you to show people that having a blessed baby is okay.

For now, at nine months and one day you continue to surpass everyone’s expectations. You are working hard at crawling and getting really close. You are starting to love your jumper, which is really nice for me to get things done at times. You still have no teeth, but they are in the making. You love posing for pictures and playing with the baby wipes package. You are definitely an outdoorsman. Yesterday you got mad at me after I took you back inside after swinging for a little bit. You are Daniel, not a diagnosis.

I love you!,
Your VERY lucky momma

3 thoughts on “Dear Daniel V

  1. We love you, and we love Daniel. I could not agree more with what you said: “You are Daniel, not a diagnosis.” As if he’s less of a person, or without the same capabilities to love and understand the world around because of Down Syndrome.

    You continue to amaze me every day by being such an awesome mom. I support you 100% in all things motherhood; you set the bar high! I cannot WAIT to meet Daniel at your wedding, and give him a big hug.

    Lots of love and light,
    Katie

  2. Oh whitney, you are such an amazing person(and MOM!). This post brought tears to my eyes. It is heartbreaking to know that some people have such warped views on such a precious topic. Daniel is such a sweet and loving little boy and I’m so glad to know him. He is a true joy. A treasure. I’m so happy that God blessed you with such a great son and the ability and drive to tell your, Ryan and Daniel’s story. You are making the world a much bettter place! Keep up the good work 🙂 Love you Lots!

  3. Dear Lord, I want to thank you for giving Daniel to Whitney and Ryan! They truly understand the gift you gave. They understand we don’t have to know your plans to let them play out. And we don’t have to go the way society does. Lord, we also want you to hear the secret cries of the women who opted out of giving birth to these children based on medical knowledge, forgive them, for they do not understand or want to hear your plan. Society has confused them with the need for perfection or at least normalcy. May their hearts repent and receive your loving grace. In Jesus Name we pray. Amen!

Leave a Reply

